Kindle Fire: My New Love

For my birthday, I received the Kindle Fire.  I never had an e-reader before, and all I can say is I didn’t know what I was missing.

The Kindle Fire is amazing.  I’m going to sound like an advertisement in saying this, but I can surf the web, create documents (I still need to figure that one out), and read books within seconds.  I can read books on my iPhone too, but it’s a lot easier to read a book on the Kindle screen than the iPhone screen.  Not only are books easier to read, so many of the classics are free.  FREE!  To use a Princess Bride line, “Inconceivable!” at how amazing this thing is.

I feel like the Kindle Fire will get me to read more.  I’m embarrassed to say that I am behind on my reading.  I used to pride myself on being a fast reader, but since graduating from college I’ve fallen back into slow-reading mode which means it takes me longer to finish a book.  There’s something about the Kindle screen, however, that brings out the inner child in me that loves to flick the screen to turn the e-pages.  Plus, there’s the added bonus of not having to hunt through my bookshelf to find the book I’m looking for, then to hunt for it again once I put it down.  With the Kindle, it’s right there in my carousel.

I read Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest yesterday.  Although I have the print copy on my bookshelf, the print copy has a thin layer of dust on it from not even being glanced at in so long.  But downloaded to my Kindle, I spent the afternoon reading it.

Now having experienced the Kindle, I think there is something to be said about the different reading mediums out there.  I know there was (and still is) debate as to whether traditional publishing will eventually be phased out in the wake of the e-publishing revolution.  While I do think that the popularity of traditional publishing will subside, there will still be a place for traditionally published books.  I may love my Kindle, but I still love holding a book in my hand.

Books are becoming more like Warhol pieces where it’s the same image only in different colors; with books, it’s the same book only in different formats.

Leave a Reply

