Saying No to NaNoWriMo

November is National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo for short.  Each November, authors and would-be authors alike are challenged with the task of writing a full-length novel (at least 50,000 words) by the end of the month.

I took part in NaNoWriMo one year, actually completing the challenge in full.  The result was the first draft of what would become Darkness Calls.  Other than that one time, however, I have not taken part in NaNoWriMo despite wanting to.

Once again I considered participating in NaNoWriMo.  I have notebooks filled with story ideas, outlines, and the start of many stories I would like to turn into novels some day.  Some day being the key phrase.

Right now my writing plate is full, and I would be afraid taking on NaNoWriMo would take my plate from full to overflowing.  I am writing the sequel to Darkness Calls, writing the first draft of a memoir work, keeping up with the two blogs (this one and my other one, Living With Celiac Blog – livingwithceliacblog.wordpress.com), and have started writing poetry again.  The next project up to bat is adding more research to an academic article I wrote on depictions of the female in Meyer’s Twilight series.  As you can see, I am a busy girl.

I hope you all will take part in NaNoWriMo or at least consider it.  50,000 words in one month is a lot, but a lot of great ideas and characters can come out of it.

Either way, I leave you with this one word-nerd wisdom of the day: write on, people, write on.

 

One thought on “Saying No to NaNoWriMo

  1. Donna says:

    I understand your decision- I did NaNoWriMo a few years ago and it consumed my life! I was thrilled when I finished on time and immediately said I was going to do it every year, but somehow it never happens. Then I started blogging and that’s eaten up all my spare time. Maybe after I retire.

Leave a Reply

