Entering The Agent Arena

Okay, I have been slacking in the blogging department.  But I have good reason!  I have been writing.  You know, the thing I want to do with the rest of my life.

Originally, I started writing the sequel to Darkness Calls as well as a memoir piece about my time as a substitute teacher.  I made it to 30,000 words in the Darkness Calls sequel before the writer side of me was all “This can wait.  You need to write the memoir and finish it before the new year.”

Try as I did to focus on both projects, the writer side won, and I put the Darkness Calls sequel on hold to devote more time to the substitute teaching memoir.  Oh, side note, I work as a substitute teacher in addition to writing because while I want to be able to write full-time, what I want and what gives me a paycheck are not necessarily the same thing.

No, I do not want to be a teacher.  No, I did not go to school to be a teacher nor did I ever take an Education course in college.  I ended up as a substitute teacher because after apply to many, many jobs and only getting one interview for a job I ended up not getting, I applied to become a substitute teacher because student loans needed to start to be paid back.  Ah, student loans.  The gift that keeps on giving.

Good news, though: I have finished the memoir.  Currently, I am in the Agent Arena part of writing, where I query agents and agencies to see if one would be interested in representing my work.  Oh, God, I hope someone will be interested in my work.  I hope my query and synopsis are enough to catch someone’s eye (in a good way).  I tried to outline what the book is about, but I do not always do summary well.  I hope they will get my book, that it is not just a series of me venting about how, as a job, substitute teaching kind of sucks, but that the book is about teaching, students, and that the book would be great read for a teacher or anyone wanting to enter the Education field (and those who have entered the field and have come back with a few scars of their own) as well as anyone who has had to deal with their own quarter life crisis.

I hope, but then there is Doubt that likes to remind me that “You seem to hope a lot.  Will anything you hope for happen?”

Leave a Reply

