Boston Marathon Tragedy

Last night, my blog post was not that optimistic because I really did not feel optimistic after what had happened.  But today as I was watching the news and reading the papers and just being online, it hit me how much support there is out there for Boston and for those affected by the tragedy.

One of the most common images I have seen is the quote by Mister Rogers saying, “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers.  You will always find people who are helping.’”  At times such as this when news footage of the explosions is constantly on with the caption at the bottom of the screen revealing the rising number of injured and revealing the identities of the dead, it is important to remember that there truly is good in this world.  That no matter how painful an event is, no matter how heartbroken we are, that there are others out there who are in even more pain and are even more heartbroken, and that those individuals need our help.

I want to help.  I have been looking up ways to help, and I found an article on CNN that lists ways to help.  The link is below:

http://www.cnn.com/2013/04/16/us/iyw-boston-marathon/index.html

I do not know if I can give blood because I have Celiac Disease, an autoimmune disease.  I do, however, intend on donating money.  I hope if you are reading this blog post, you consider helping out as well.  It doesn’t have to be much, but any little bit will help.

Please keep Boston and those affected by this tragedy in your thoughts and prayers.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

