Confessions Of A Writer #13

It’s not all about you.

One of the biggest mistakes a lot of people make in their careers is they have a Me Mentality.  In other words, they think it’s all about them.

Writers are not excluded from this mentality.  I admit that when I first started on my writing career path I had very much a Me Mentality.  Trying to get people interested in me, trying to get people to notice me, trying to get people to like me.  Their interests were second to my own as I was trying to build my writing career.

Here’s the problem with the Me Mentality: people find it really hard to like someone who is only concerned about themselves.

If you start out with a Me Mentality, you have a much harder time building an audience because people are turned off by those who are not interested in others.

And as an e-author, I get it.  E-authors are often their own marketing teams.  It’s difficult to juggle being interested in others while you’re also trying to get people interested in you.  But the only way to get people interested in you is by being interested in them.

It’s changing the way you think and interact with people.  Rather than giving into the temptation to automatically talk about yourself from the beginning, take a minute to pause to ask about the other person.  Likewise, when you are out make it a priority to build a connection with at least one person you come into contact with.  The connection might only last for a short duration like a train ride; however, by starting to get into the habit of connecting with people you are expanding your interest in others.  And when you take an interest in others, they begin to take an interest in you.

One thought on “Confessions Of A Writer #13

  1. Hi there! I’ve just nominated you for a Leibster Award. http://www.morgansylvia.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

