Advice From Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In

I just finished reading Sheryl Sandberg’s book Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead.  It’s a fantastic read that forces you to stop and examine your own life and behaviors to assess where you too might be demonstrating those gender biases and unintentionally adhering to traditional gender norms.

There is so much really great advice Sandberg gives in the book, and I would highly recommend you all read it or at least flip through it.  As I write this post, I wish I could put more effort into this blog post for today and go into more detail about the book.  But as I write this post, I am so tired that it’s the tired where your eyes are like five year olds who are not getting the nap they need.  My bed and the pillows are calling to me like sirens.  To cap it all off, tomorrow my day will consist of waking up early to substitute teach, spending all day with fourth graders where every class will be a chorus of, “Ms. R, can you help me?”  When the school bell rings my work does not end, however, as I work on this blog along with the two others I created and maintain plus finishing up the sequel to one of the e-books.  Because I will be with students tomorrow who will need me, I will not have the down time to write drafts of tomorrow’s blog posts.  Yeah, it’s going to be a long day just as today was a long day.

That said, there is something Sandberg discusses which I think is not only relevant to my current situation, but to virtually every situation you will ever have.  In the book, Sandberg talks about how there are signs at Facebook which say, “Done is better than perfect.”  That quote is now officially my new favorite saying because at the end of the day, there will always be things we wish we had done better.  The important thing is that those things are done.  Imagine all the things that we wouldn’t have accomplished if, in the pursuit of perfection, we didn’t finish them.  All the papers, projects, assignments, manuscripts, etc. that never came to be because we were too focused on perfecting them rather than finishing them.

In that spirit, I am concluding this blog post for tonight.  It’s not perfect, but it’s done.  And done is indeed better than perfect.      

 

Leave a Reply

