Project Thankful: Reason #5

Today in class, I discussed the ideas of money and social class with the students to provide some background on themes in F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby.  Two questions I posed to the class as writing prompts were (1) if they think it makes a difference in a marriage if one person has more money than the other, and (2) if they think it makes a difference in a marriage if one person comes from a different social class than the other.

As we were discussing the ideas of money and social class, I realized how thankful I am that my parents have always encouraged me to go after my dreams so that my “American dream” can become a reality.  They never told me to go after a career where I could make a lot of money; they told me to go after what I’m passionate about.  They raised me to know that money and social class do not make a difference in regards to relationships, instilling The Golden Principle as part of my personality.  Class is not something someone is born into; it is something they are born with, regardless of what social class they might be categorized into. 

I am thankful for my parents for many reasons.  For today, I am most especially thankful for them raising me a dreamer who has the courage go after their dreams, building them into a reality.

One thought on “Project Thankful: Reason #5

Leave a Reply

