Project Thankful: Reason #24

Today, I am thankful for new traditions.  See, every year around Christmas I tend to have a mental checklist of activities I think I need to do before Christmas in order for it to feel like Christmas.  Maybe it’s because I have been blogging about being thankful, but this year that mental checklist is not as pressing.  It’s as though a part of me stepped back and said “You know what?  This year is going to be about going with the flow.”

The result of this new attitude is new traditions.  Homemade gluten-free gingerbread cookies?  Um, it’s gingerbread, so that’s an automatic yes.  Homemade gluten-free eggnog cookies?  I had never made eggnog anything before, but these cookies are delicious and will definitely be on next year’s holiday baking list.  Lastly, there is the movie category.  Ever watch the 1954 film “White Christmas”?  It’s amazing!  And will so be watched during next year’s holiday movie season.

With each year, I grow older.  That last sentence sounds very obvious, but as I get older, I am beginning to realize I do not have to be as set in my ways in order to enjoy the holidays.  Letting go allows for new, wonderful things to take place.  Like awesometastic cookies.

One thought on “Project Thankful: Reason #24

Leave a Reply

