Why I’m Good Without Twitter

Despite the title of this blog post, I do in fact have Twitter.  Two Twitter accounts to be more exact.  I rarely log onto Twitter, however, and when I do my total time spent on the site is less than five minutes.

One of the pieces of advice the online world (aka Google search) gave to me when I was getting ready to publish my e-books was to expand my social media presence, including creating a Twitter account where I should tweet several times a day.  At first, I tried the Twitter thing.  I followed people and some people followed me as well.  I would tweet to promote my books with the occasional tweet about my day thrown in there as well.

What I’ve found is that I’m good without Twitter.  Yes, it’s a way to promote my books, and I did use it as such.  After a while though, my tweets felt to me like flashy, stiff billboard advertisements or infomercials.  And that’s not how I want to feel about anything I write, be it a tweet or a Facebook status.

I’m more of a blogger than a tweeter when it comes to social media.  For me, blogging is a better way for people to get to know me and to get to know my books if they are interested.  It also helps that I’m not confined to 140 characters when I blog.  More room for writing.

Leave a Reply

