Project Thankful: Reason #30

Holy smokes, this is the 30th Project Thankful post!  Now I really feel the pressure to write about something meaningful.  Because some days the thing that comes to mind when I think about what I am thankful for that day is something seemingly small, such as chocolate when I have had a really trying day.  Other days I am thankful for something that feels so profound, I have an “I am one with The Universe” moment.

Since 30 is kind of a big deal, I figure it should be about something truly meaningful.  Or rather, someone. 

I am thankful for my parents for many reasons, more reasons than one blog could conceivably contain.  I am especially thankful for my mom for pushing me academically.  Growing up, meeting the bar was not enough.  My mom would not just encourage me to go above the metaphorical bar, but to take it and set it higher than what others would have it set at.  “Go the extra mile,” and “Go the distance” were phrases I would often hear, usually with me wondering why I couldn’t just be done already. Now that I am older though, I appreciate her pushing me.  Without her pushing me as much as she did, I would not be as ambitious or as determined as I am.  She raised a dreamer willing to execute her goals to make those dreams a reality.

Leave a Reply

