Brave New World

In addition to not being consistent with updating Twitter, I have not updated my progress on Goodreads in a while.  I get the monthly updates from Goodreads telling me about what my friends are currently reading, and in the bottom of the screen is the last book I listed as having started reading.  I have since read many more books.

The most recent book I finished reading was Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

Image

 

This book has so many amazing, thought provoking quotes that my copy has underlines and stars fillings its pages.  Here are five quotes that I especially liked:

“Those who meant well behaved in the same way as those who meant badly.”

“Did you ever feel…as though you had something inside you that was only waiting for you to give it a chance to come out?  Some sort of extra power that you aren’t using?”

“Words can be like X-rays, if you use them properly – they’ll go through anything.  You read and you’re pierced.  That’s one of the things I try to teach my students – how to write piercingly.”

“Happiness is a hard master – particularly other people’s happiness.  A much harder master, if one isn’t conditioned to accept it unquestioningly, than truth.”

“Happiness has got to be paid for.”

Leave a Reply

