Project Thankful: Reason #69

There is a lot of snow out there!  So much snow, that when I looked out my window this morning it kind of creeped me out.  I’m claustrophobic, and seeing all of the snow piled high, narrowing spaces, made me feel uneasy.  To combat this panic, I thought about the snow from a writing standpoint.  My first reaction to this thought was, “I’m going to write about being thankful for all of this freaking snow?”  Then I made myself consider why I would be thankful for all of this snow, and I found my “Project Thankful” post for today.  When there is a lot of snow, virtually no surface is spared from being covered.  The natural surfaces, such as trees and fields, which get covered are thought of as pretty.  The man-made surfaces, such as roads and stairs, which get covered are thought of as pretty annoying because the snow complicates matters.  Yet snow is nature, and when it dominates it acts to assert nature’s power over anything man-made.  So, yes, I am thankful for all of this snow because it makes us pay attention nature, in a way alerting us as to how much we actually encroach on nature because we feel invaded when something natural does take over.

Leave a Reply

