Project Thankful: Reason #81

When I met up with my friends on Monday, one of the topics we discussed was post-college life.  More specifically, how different we were when we were in college compared to how we are today.

“I don’t know, I just feel like when we were in college we kind of thought the world revolved around us in a way,” one of my friends said.

“I agree,” I replied.   “It was like we were each in our own bubbles, separate from the world.”

The thing about being out of college is that those self-absorbed (as harsh as that sounds) bubbles burst in the face of having to care about someone other than yourself.  For me, that had to do with working with students.  Suddenly, there were all these individuals who I was responsible for, even if it was for only 45 minutes at a time.  

The world will not give way to the will, desires, and wants of a single person.  At some point a person has to allow their life to be one that moves with the world rather than live in the folly that the world moves according to their life.

Leave a Reply

