Project Thankful: Reason #120

Today, I visited a campus in a very remote part of Rhode Island.  The drive down there was long, and the rainy weather did not help to alleviate the commute.  The roads were flanked by desolate fields barren of any visible vivacity.  Stores and other signs of consumerist civilization were absent.

Being immersed in this scene, I began to reflect on my upcoming decision on where to attend grad school.  While I am not making any final decisions, I know wherever I attend, I need to feel connected to home.  And where I went today, well, I didn’t feel connected.  If anything, I felt like I needed to get home as soon as possible.

It would be one thing to move away from home.  Disconnecting from home is something I seek to avoid entirely.

Leave a Reply

