Project Thankful: Reason #121

The most important piece of advice I’ve heard from professors about graduate school is to take care of yourself.  Two years ago, I was accepted into an MA program at a Boston area college.  I ultimately decline this offer of admission due to financial costs.  That summer, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease.  My entire life went through an upheaval, and I am still coping with the diagnosis.

Hearing professors say the most important advice is to take care of yourself – mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually – has made me reflect back on my decision not to start graduate school a couple of years ago.  I knew I made the right decision, but now I understand why it was truly the right decision: I needed to focus on taking care of myself.  

Wherever I go, I need to remember to take care of myself.  I often put others before myself, but I need to remember to take time to focus on myself.  This means making it a habit every day to spend time doing something that would benefit me.  I just need to start that routine.

What’s part of your daily “me” care?

2 thoughts on “Project Thankful: Reason #121

  1. “what’s my daily “me” care?” I have a “condition” that requires daily medication. It is become habit to take these meds regularly. Yes, I do forget at times; but those are rare occurrences.

    • Lauren says:

      I also have medical conditions that require daily medicine and supplements; I understand about the occasional lapse. Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

