Project Thankful: Reason #128

I’ve been kind of absent from my blog lately, and the reason is that I was struggling to accept The News.

It’s been a week since I found out about The News.  My mom and dad didn’t want to tell me last week because I was away dog sitting, and they didn’t want to ruin my time away.  Last Friday, after work, I went to the bookstore to get a book for a research project.  As I was browsing the shelves, I kept looking at my phone at the time, and I began to panic for no apparent reason.  In my heart, I knew something was wrong, something that was urging me to return home.

I walked in the front door, my dad sitting in the living room chair and my mom hunched over her iPad.  The TV wasn’t on.  There was an impactful silence to the house, a silence that is a blow to one’s heart, alerting them that something terrible has happened.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

That’s when my mom told me The News.

“I’m sorry,” my dad quietly said, looking at me with broken eyes.

 ***

Life doesn’t always deal you the greatest hand.  In fact, sometimes it likes to give you the seemingly impossible, just to see how you’ll deal, or if you can deal at all.

Without going into any details, I will say that something has happened which, in an instant, has completely chopped off the lifestyle my family and I were used to.  It’s still so new to deal with that it feels unreal, something ripped straight from a restless, worrisome dream.

But it is real.  And now we are forced to change our lives in order to prepare for the storm that is coming.

Leave a Reply

