Project Thankful: Reason #161

Yesterday was not the best day at work.  The students were feeling “It’s almost summer!” big time, and it showed.  By the end of the day, I was ready to go home.

During the last block of the day, I helped a student edit their English project, an autobiography of their life.  One chapter they wrote was called “My Saddest Memory.”  His saddest memory was his grandmother passing away.  When I was editing the chapter, I was struck by how personal the memory was and how much emotion he put into writing it.  I would look at him, giving him comments, and I could see how invested he was in writing the chapter.

It’s seeing students really engage in their writing that reaffirms why I love working with students.  They turn an otherwise bad day into one with a silver lining.

Leave a Reply

