Project Thankful: Reason #163

On June 26, 2012, I underwent a colonoscopy and endoscopy to determine what was causing my intense abdominal pain.  That was the day my doctor discovered that I have Celiac Disease, and two weeks later at my follow-up appointment, I found out the diagnosis in person.

My life completely changed as soon as I found out I have Celiac Disease.  It’s not just about changing your diet; it’s about changing your lifestyle.  And that includes re-evaluating who is really worth having in your life.

I’m lucky to have friends who are very sympathetic towards my Celiac Disease.  They ask how I’m doing, dealing with it, and demonstrate an interest in learning about Celiac Disease and how it impacts me.  They are careful when we go out to eat, calling ahead to make sure a place has gluten-free options and/or alerting wait staff to the fact that I can not eat gluten.

Then there are the friends who don’t get it and choose not to get it.  They don’t ask how I’m dealing with it, their expressions make it visible that they don’t want to hear about it, and they just don’t look out for me when it comes to being gluten-free, such as not having gluten-free something available for me when I go over their house.  The kicker?  They live right down the street from a Whole Foods.

I’m at a point in my life where I’m moving forward.  That means reflecting on the people who deserve to be in my life, preserving the relationships with people who have shown they care, and slowly leaving behind those who don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

