Project Thankful: Reason #170

I told one of my friends yesterday about how I’ll be moving to New Hampshire, and they were less than supportive.  “And how are you going to afford this?” was their response.  I had told another friend of mine about the decision to attend the college in New Hampshire over one in Boston I made and how hard it was deciding, and her response was, “Yeah.  And the Boston one would be cheaper.”

How a person reacts to news of something major in your life tells a lot about them and about the quality of friend they are.  And if they’re worth keeping in your life.

I think the most upsetting thing about my friends’ reactions is what they implied.  Money is a concern for most people, but in phrasing it as they did, they implied that I couldn’t afford it and/or I wasn’t being smart about money.  It’s one thing to be bitter, to be jealous, to be sad, but it’s another thing entirely to cross a personal line.  And that’s exactly what they did.

So why am I blogging this post under “Project Thankful”?  Well, I look at it this way: I’m grateful for this experience for showing me that I should have no hard feelings leaving those people behind when I move away.  And for allowing me to turn the characters in my novels who they inspired into villains.  

Writing is one of the best forms of revenge.

Leave a Reply

