Project Thankful: Reason #196: What Drives You?

What drives you?

That’s the question I’ve been asking myself lately.  What makes me want to work harder?  What makes me keep at at this writing thing, blogging and building drafts?  What makes me envision lofty dreams one day becoming realities?

I look at my mom and dad, and I know my answer.  What drives me?  My family.  Everything I do is not just for myself, but for my family.  I can remember sitting in the car with my mom as she drove us home one day when I was a teenager.  I remember saying to her, “I’m going to take care of you.”  I meant what I said.  I want to give my parents the life they deserve, one where they will be taken care of and provided for.

As my mom and I were driving today, my mom looked at the sign outside of a convenience store that states the jackpot amounts for Mega Millions and Powerball.  She sighed, noting that someone must have won both this week because of the dip in the jackpot numbers.

I want my life to be a jackpot in itself, one that I can share with my parents.  So I guess what also drives me is hope.  Hope that hard work will pay off and dreams will become realities. 

Leave a Reply

