Project Thankful: Reason #198: The End of My Post-College Purgatory

I’m ready to move on.

I woke up this morning, and I knew that I’m done with my post-college gap years.  My post-college purgatory has ended.  It’s over.  Three years of working in a field I never thought I would end up in, that I started out with no background or training in, and I’ve made it through.  My resume, which I once struggled to put together with relevant experiences, now boasts multiple positions listed under ‘Relevant Experiences.’

How did any of this happen?

When I first signed up to be on districts’ substitute teacher lists, subbing was going to be a job I thought would only last for one year until I started grad school.  That was Grad School Applications Round 1, when I was applying to grad school in part to continue my research but more to feel like I was doing something productive with my life.  Although I was accepted into a graduate program at a Boston-area university, I ultimately had to decline the offer due to financial circumstances.

The plan for my life fell apart, and I found myself facing another year subbing.  Subbing was not all that I did, however.  Impressed with my ability to work with students, the director of an alternative program at a high school reached out to me to tutor some students.  Looking back, I think it was my experience tutoring that began to consciously stir the idea of working with students as a career path.

Year Three…well, Year Three made me realize that while I do want to work with students, I want to teach at the college level.  Not at the high school level.

1 full day + 2 half days = the rest of the 2013-2014 school year.  When the bell rings on the last day of school, it won’t just be a break for me; it will signal the end of a part of my life and the beginning of another.

 

Leave a Reply

